First time novelists on Miles Franklin Award Shortlist 2012

Book news this week is focussing on the shortlist for the Miles Franklin Award, Australia’s most prestigious literary award.

Anna Funder, author of All That I Am and Favel Parrett, author of Past The Shallows  have two things in common.  They are both first time novelists and they are both women writers. Gillian Mears is the third woman writer to be on the 2012 Shortlist, comprising of the best five literary works in the past year which have depicted Australian life.  This trumps some past perceptions that the award has been focussing too much on male writers.

A mark of progressive times, judges explored for the first time how Australian life has been depicted in works through the metaphysical, including mindset, language, history and values.

The winner of the Miles Franklin Award recognises authors who depict Australian life in texts of high literary merit.  The winner receives Australia’s most prestigious literary prize valued at $50,000.   The award has been presented since 1957. Past winners have included notable Australian authors such as Kim Scott (2011), Peter Temple (2010), and Tim Winton (2009).

View the full 2012 shortlist here.


Subscribe to receive book & library news delivered fresh to your email inbox. Subscription box is on the right column (Scroll Up)

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction - Australian Literature, Love2Read, Must-Read Stories of All Time, National Year of Reading 2012, NYR, Starter Reads - Start here if you haven't read a book for a while and dont know what to choose, Top Books of the 21st Century

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s